The first church in Amerongen, the St. Pieter, was built in the
13th century. This church was replaced in the 15th century by a church
with a pseudo-basilican nave. In the northern wall of the current
church tuff of the St. Pieter were used. The ruins of the St. Pieter
were demolished in the 17th century.
In ca. 1500 the choir was built, which was flanked by a sacristy on the
north side and a chapel on the south side, the latter of which was
built already in 1418 and was replaced in the 16th century.
The tower dates from the first half of the 16th century and is of the
Sticht Gothic type, inspired by the tower of the cathedral in Utrecht
but consisting of square segments only.
In 1585 the church was badly damaged during fights between Spanish and
Republican troops. Rebuilding didn't start until 1616. The church had
become protestant then, and to improve the view on the pulpit several
pillars were removed. The church was covered by wooden vaults, which
still remain in the side-aisles, but those of the central aisle were
replaced by plaster vaults in the 1880's.
A wooden church was replaced between 1275 and 1300 by a new church,
made of stone, of which the current choir and the chapel on its north
side are remnants. In ca. 1350 work started on a three-aisled
nave, only part of which was completed when work ceased shortly after
it had started. For unclear reasons the ground-level was heightened, as
well as the floors of choir and chapel. Work continued in the 15th
century. In ca. 1480 the three-aisled nave was rebuilt into a
one-aisled one with chapels on each side, each looking like a
The tower was built in ca. 1475 and shows influences from Brabant in
the buttresses and use of natural stone. was connected to the church in
ca. 1525 by the addition of an extra trave.
The church of Wemeldinge until the Reformation was named St. Maarten.
The tower is the oldest part of the church and shows Flemish influences
in style. The corner-turrets at the top were removed in 1607.
Originally the church had a three-aisled nave, which probably
early-15th century was heightened and transformed into a one-aisled
nave, the current northern aisle. The choir dates from ca. 1400. In ca.
1530 the southern aisle was built. Architect J. Verheul restored the
church in 1898. During this restoration many traces of the history of
the church were destroyed. Verheul added a new entrance in the back of
the choir, which was again removed in 1987-1989, and covered the nave
with plaster vaults.