(U): reformed church
first church was probably built in the late-13th century, although some
sources claim the village had a church already in the 9th century.
During its history, the church was destroyed and rebuilt several times.
Its oldest parts date from the 14th century, including the tower and
the apse of the choir, but for the most part the current church is from
the 15th century. The one-aisled nave is remarkably wide compared to
its width and was probably narrower originally.
In 1900 the church was badly damaged by fire, after having been struck
by lightning. The entire interior and the roof were lost, leaving only
the tower and the walls standing. Architect J.C. Wentinck was
commissioned to design a new church. However, the mayor prevented the
demolition of the ruins, and instead Wentinck was now commissioned to
restore the old church. The architect made plans together with his
father E.G. Wentinck, but P.J.H. Cuypers is known to have been involved
as well. The resulting restoration was largely in neo-Gothic style.
Portals were built at the western and northern sides, the windows were
given new traceries and a natural stone balustrade was added to the
tower, replacing a wooden one. The tower was clad with new bricks, thus
visually correcting its leaning forward. In 1901 the restoration was
completed. The neo-Gothic look of the church was maintained during
another restoration in 1977-1978.